Roadrunners Place Six on All-Conference Team

Roadrunners Place Six on All-Conference Team


AC Athletics


The Angelina College Roadrunner baseball team landed six players on the Region XIV East Zone All-Conference list, with three of those players earning 1st Team nods.

Sean Bergeron, Rylan Meek and JoJo Munoz were the three Roadrunners named to the zone’s 1st Team, while Euro Diaz and Wes Gafford earned 2nd Team honors. Eric Worden earned Honorable Mention honors.

Bergeron capped a stellar sophomore season with two outstanding starts in his final two regular-season games. Bergeron no-hit Northeast Texas Community College on April 26 and tossed a two-hit shutout against Paris College in his final start. The Crosby, TX product struck out 97 hitters in 69 innings pitched and finished with a 3.26 ERA.

Meek, from Deer Park, led the team in homers (7) and RBI (32) while hitting at a .386 clip. Munoz, from Los Fresnos, hit .340 with a homer and 20 RBI while stealing seven bases. Diaz, from Pasadena, hit .302 on the year while scoring 26 RBI and 32 runs scored.

Gafford, a freshman from Georgetown, alternated between the bullpen and a late-season starting role to earn 2nd Team honors. Gafford finished the season with a 3.29 ERA, striking out 41 hitters in 41 innings.

The versatile Worden, a freshman from Austin, posted stats in both the hitting and pitching categories. Worden hit .400 for the year, driving in 12 runs and scoring another 15 in just 27 games. On the mound, Worden posted a 2.08 ERA in 13 innings pitched.

The Roadrunners finished the season with a 32-21 record.

The e-mail address for AC’s Sports Information Director is